My first experience with Make Up Designory studio (Belgium)

I got some questions about MUD so I thought: ” Why not writing about it?”

Ik krijg soms vragen over MUD en mijn ervaring en ik dacht: ” Waarom schrijf ik het niet in mijn blog ?”

I was searching for a makeup course that looked professional, in Belgium. And one day (hallelujah) there were big billboards hanging out where I lived about a new make-up course in Ghent named: MUD. I’m from Ghent so that sounded really good.

Ik was aan het zoeken naar een professionele  make-up opleiding in België. En op een dag (hallelujah) hingen er grote billboards langs de weg over een nieuwe make-up opleiding in Gent: MUD. Ik ben van Gent dus dat kwam goed uit.

So I went to the opening day. The studio was like a fairytale, modern interior and a beautiful garden. I got info about the course and also we watched how make up artist worked with the makeup. One of them did special fx and created a werewolf. It looked so cool I just needed a photo with him. The people were really talented. It really felt good to be their.

Dus ik ging naar de opendeurdag. De studio was sprookjesachtig met modern interieur en een prachtige tuin. Ik kreeg info over de opleiding en je kon bekijken hoe de make-up artisten werkte met de make-up. Eén van hen deed special fx en maakte een weerwolf. Het zag er echt goed uit en ik moest er gewoon een foto van hebben. De mensen waren getalenteerd en de atmosfeer voelde goed. 

944367_10200485274946832_1711702383_n

So I decided to do the Make Up Designory pro I course: Beauty essentials.

Ik had  gekozen voor de Make Up Designory pro 1 Beauty essentials opleiding.

You could choose different timing and days on their site but I took monday from 10 to 17 hour. 12 lessons that started on 9 september 2013. Unfortunately the course in Ghent was already full so I had to do it in Kortrijk but it was close to the trainstation so not that big of a deal.

Je kan op de site kiezen uit verschillende dagen en uren. Ik koos voor maandag van 10 tot 17 uur. 12 lessen die van start gingen op 9 september 2013. Jammer genoeg was de opleiding in Gent als volgeboekt dus moest ik het gaan doen in Kortrijk. Maar de MUD studio in Kortrijk is vlak bij het station dus dat viel mee.

The first day we needed to introduce ourselves. There were people from all ages and different experience so it was interesting to hear other people’s storie. We got our MUD bag wich was really exited full of nice stuff and some make up books.

Op de eerste dag moesten we ons aan elkaar voorstellen. Er waren mensen van alle leeftijden en met verschillende ervaringen. Ik vond het interessant om andere mensen hun verhalen te horen. We kregen onze MUD tas vol met leuke spulletjes en make-up boeken.

I did a blogpost with the products in detail here.

Ik deed een blogpost met de producten in detail hier.

IMG_4109IMG_4116 MUD products in pro I kit: Brow Fix, Black Cake Eyeliner, Cheek Color Refill (Rose Petal & Russet), Eye Color Refill (Sienna, Apricot, Chamois, Sunset, Brownstone & Pixie), Eye Pencil (Auburn & Taupe), Face Primer, Foundation Palettes (1 & 2), Highlight & Shadow Palette, Lip Gloss (Shine), Lip Pencil (Red & Natural), Lipstick (Mai Tai, Rose Clay & Lady Bug), Zero Loose Powder, Mascara (Volumizing), MUD Corrector Palette, Palette 10 Hole Blush, Palette 12 Hole Eye Shadow 

* I already used the products

*Ik heb de producten al gebruikt

IMG_4122         IMG_4127

MUD tools: 747 Eyelashes (MUD 106), MUD Eyelashes (Short Flare 201, Medium Flare 202 & Single 301), Eyelash Curler MUD, Make-up Remover Wipes, Mascara Wand (25 pack), Palette Knife (MUD), Palette Metal (MUD), Pencil Sharpener (MUD), Powder Puff (10 pk), Scissors, Manicure (MUD), Sponge Ult Makeup MUD, Spray Bottle (MUD), Tweezer (MUD), Applicator, Double Point Cotton, Cover Cloth, Duckbill Hair Clips, 1 package, Brush 100 Eyeliner, Brush 310 Lip, Brush 320 Filbert Flat, Brush 350, Filbert Medium, Brush 500 Mini Fan, Brush 700 Angle Contour, Brush 720 Powder, Brush 930 Concealer, Brush 940 Foundation, Brush Belt/Roll, Beauty Text, Beauty Workbook (outside)

The teacher was really nice and patient. I learned about being professional with clients, the basics of accentuate beautiful features for different faces. I also started to have the courage for touching peoples faces because after a few lessons you get used to it. Also learning to work on other peoples faces is really different than working on your own face. I got the know some of the people in my class. One woman who worked for  Jordana Cosmetics Thailand was so sweet to me, she gave me a lipstick! Her name is Anne. I was so thankfull!

De leerkracht was heel erg aardig en geduldig. I leerde over professioneel zijn met klanten, de basis van de beste kanten te accentueren van verschillende gezichten. Ik durfde ook meer andere mensen hun gezicht aan te raken, na een paar lessen werd het een gewoonte. Ook is het werken op andere gezichten veel verschillend dan werken op je eigen gezicht. Ik leerde ook wat mensen kennen in mijn klas. Een vrouw die werkte voor Jordana Cosmetics Thailand was zo vriendelijk, ze gaf me zelf een lippenstift! Haar naam is Anne. Ik was haar zo dankbaar!

1380289_10201373743878000_128043096_n

Jordana lipstick in Candied Pink.

At the end you need to do a exam. You need to make a facechart and a moodboard and find your own model to create a natural look for. I wanted to go for something magical/ peacock-ish because in that moment I was loving Daenerys Targaryen from GOT but I also wanted to do something with peacock colors because my model had warm brows hair and eyes and blue is the opposite so this would make her eyes pop. Also Daenerys and peacock = proud. I don’t know if it made sense but for me it did.

Op het einde moest je een examen afleggen. Je moet een facechart en moodboard maken en je eigen model zoeken en voorzien van een naturel make-up look. Ik wou gaan voor iets magisch/ pauw-achtig omdat ik op dat moment hield van Daenerys Targaryen van GOT maar ik wou ook iets met de kleuren van een pauw omdat mijn model een brunette was met warme bruine ogen en blauw is het tegengestelde dus dit zou haar ogen beter doen laten uitkomen. Ook Daenerys en een pauw = trots. Ik weet niet of dit duidelijk is maar voor mij was het een duidelijk verbinding.

1456001_10201738352712993_1211247971_n

My Moodboard for MUD pro I exam. Natural/nude look.

379681_10201757334987538_1568379643_n

My facechart for MUD pro I exam. Natural/nude look.

1558410_10201998118806983_20908583_n

And this was the outcome for MUD pro I exam. Natural/nude look.

En dit is het eindresultaat voor het MUD pro 1 examen naturel look

Now I see this picture back I know I could do it better, but hey that is how you learn. You see when pictures are taken the color gets a lot lighter so you need to apply a lot. But it’s still a nice picture. And I got my certificate ^^

Nu ik deze foto terug zie weet ik dat ik het beter kon doen, maar hey dat is hoe je iets leert. Je ziet dat als er een foto genomen word de kleuren veel lichter worden dus je moet veel make-up aanbrengen. Maar het is nog steeds een leuke foto. En ik heb mijn certificaat ^^

It was a nice experience, I learned a lot. It’s a little pricey but it’s a really good course and I actually never seen a cheap makeup course but this one you can trust.

Het was een leuke ervaring, ik heb veel geleerd. Het is een beetje duur maar het is een heel goede opleiding en ik heb eigenlijk nog nooit een goedkope make-up opleiding gezien maar deze kan je vertrouwen.

This had nothing to do with MUD but I do have to warn you as a student (in Belgium) is that MUD studio doesn’t count as a school  so you don’t count as a student anymore . I already knew  that but it’s a choice you have to make. I actually chose it myself that way because I really wanted to do it. Finding a job as a student is easier but at least now I have more opportunities to work with make-up.

Dit heeft niks te maken met MUD maar ik moet je waarschuwen dat als je een student bent (in Belgie) dat MUD studio niet telt als een school dus je telt ook niet meer mee als student. Ik wist dit maar het is een keuze die je moet maken. Ik koos dit omdat ik het echt graag wou doen. Een job zoeken als student is iets makkelijker maar nu heb ik ieder geval meer kansen om te werken met make-up.

I’m very happy I did it, I learned a lot and it motivated me to go further in the make-up industry.

Ik ben blij dat ik het gedaan heb, ik heb veel geleerd en het motiveert mij om verder te gaan in de make-up wereld.

For more info go to http://www.makeupdesignory.be/nl or http://www.mud.edu/. There is also a video made about MUD in Belgium and I’m actually in it because of a intership 🙂

Voor meer info ga naar http://www.makeupdesignory.be/nl of http://www.mud.edu/. Er is ook een video gemaakt over MUD in België en ik ben ook in de video door een MUD stage 🙂

 

MUD Belgium – Make Up Designory Promo from Blueroom on Vimeo.

I hope this was enough information, if you want to ask a question feel free to do it in the comments ^^

Ik hoop dat dit genoeg informatie was, een vraag stellen mag altijd in de comments ^^

Have a mad day,

ManonMadness X

1380768_10201293051260735_452030343_n

2 gedachtes over “My first experience with Make Up Designory studio (Belgium)

Geef een reactie

